To Begin With….

Well it’s October 5th and I need to get crackin. I haven’t even started thinking about what color, what design, or what anything on my costume, for the costume contest with pattern review.com.

What I do know, this dress is for my spoiled rotten daughter. Yes, I said it! She is spoiled rotten all right and it’s probably my fault. She’s my only child, and as a single mother I wanted her to not go without, so I spoiled her. (and I wouldn’t have it any other way).

The SRD started ballroom dancing when she was 15 years old. She had seen a ballroom dance competition on PBS and she was hooked. As a matter of fact, on that particular show,two couples from San Diego were showcased. So being the fabulous mom that I am, I found out where these two couples trained and thats where we went the next day.

Now when your 15 years old, hoodies and jeans are what you wear pretty much every day and as nurse I had my scrubs on. We looked like your typical San Diego mom and SRD. Well, we walked in the studio and I felt I was bringing  my daughter to a bar. No there were no drinks, just Jennifer Lopez playing loud and  a bunch of 20 year old’s dancing and dressed in black. The latin dancer’s  had short black asymmetrical skirts and tight tops on, and the men, also in black wore shirts opened to show what chest hairs they had.  Whew, sweat was flying and pelvis’ were thrusting, what am I doing to my SRD!!!!

Needless to say, it didn’t ruin my SRD, as a matter of fact, I couldn’t have found a better place and better people to have my SRD train and work with.

Now lets us skip ahead 8 years and my SRD has made Ballroom dancing her life. She competes with her students and has competed in the Professional Open American Smooth class, which is the tango, waltzviennese waltz and the foxtrot. She is not competing right now because she is looking for a new partner, but a girl can never have enough costumes so lets make one!

As you can see, I am posting this a few days after I wrote it, life has been just a little bit crazy.

Have a Fabulous Day!

D

~ by The Queen on October 12, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
