It’s Time….

It’s time to get posting, lots of things have happened in the last few months, and I love it.

I’ve made a number of new dresses and am having so much fun. No, I never did finish that pink lace smooth dress for the SRD, but I’ll get around to it. I did make this…..

That’s the spoiled rotten daughter, dancing for….

Malashock Thinks You Can Dance (2009)

Third annual ballroom competition featuring celebrity contestants and their professional partners, benefiting The Malashock Dance School Education Outreach and Scholarship Programs.

Dancing an American Smooth Foxtrot

As Little Red Ridinghood and the Big Bad Wolf

It was sew easy, and the rhinestone choice was perfect.

I started with this pattern:

Kwik Sew pattern 3695.

I even bought most of my fabric from Joann’s, go figure…..

I have to admit I love Joann’s bathing suit lining. I wait until it’s on sale for 50% off, or when I have a great coupon, then I buy an entire bolt.

It is thin and a beautiful weight. I also purchased that fabulous red fabric at Joann’s. I was amazed that I found it, usually their dress fabric’s seems very cheap to me. This is a true red stretch satin, they also have a few more color’s which I’m sure will end up in my sewing room soon.

Then I had to change stores, and buy stretch mesh at a locally owned store. They only carry a white and a cream color, so I bring it home boil a huge pot of water with a number of tea bags and “tea dye” the mesh… I’ve never had a problem with this method. It is important that you do not put too much fabric in your pot, the fabric must move freely in the water. If not, your fabric will not dye even, which is really not very fabulous.

It really doesn’t take long to get a great tone, as my SRD is fair-skinned. I have also played around with some dye’s trying to match other skin tones and that has worked as well. Don’t be afraid of trying this, it’s kind of fun..

I lined the mesh with the suit lining and followed the pattern’s instructions.  I did cut the back lower than the pattern.

From the waist down on the mesh fabric I deleted the leg openings and cut it  like a mini skirt. My next post will have more detailed instruction’s on this technique and lot’s of picture’s, which in turn I hope will help you in your sewing adventure.

The skirt is nothing but a circle skirt cut in two piece’s. EASY! Look at this picture for a better view of the skirt.

So in the next week I will post detailed instructions for easier understanding.

~ by The Queen on March 6, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
